You are here

The Communicating Mind and Body

A

Abel, Jennifer
Affiliate

Project Officer

Achilles, Ricki-Lynn
Affiliate

PhD Candidate

A headshot of Steven Aiken standing in front of a grey background

Aiken, Steven
Affiliate

Associate Professor
steve.aiken@dal.ca

A headshot of Samuel Akinbo with arms folded, wearing glasses, standing against a red background

Akinbo , Samuel
Student Member
Linguistics
PhD Candidate

Alderete, John
Affiliate
Linguistics
Associate Professor
alderete@sfu.ca

A headshot of Dr. Maria Arredondo smiling

Arredondo, Maria
Affiliate

Assistant Professor
maria.arredondo@austin.utexas.edu

A headshot of Marlene Asselin standing outside, smiling.

Asselin, Marlene
Faculty
Language & Literacy Education
Associate Professor
marlene.asselin@ubc.ca

B
A headshot of Molly Babel standing outside and wearing a red scarf

Babel, Molly
Faculty
Linguistics
Associate Professor
molly.babel@ubc.ca

A headshot of Anthony Bailey standing in front of a brown background

Bailey, Anthony
Faculty
Psychiatry
Professor
anthony.bailey@ubc.ca

A headshot of Roberta Ballarin standing outside with her arms crossed, smiling

Ballarin, Roberta
Faculty
Philosophy
Associate Professor
roberta.ballarin@ubc.ca

Barnes, Steven
Faculty
Psychology
Associate Professor of Teaching
steven.barnes@ubc.ca

Baron, Andrew
Faculty
Psychology
Associate Professor
abaron@psych.ubc.ca

A headshot of Paul Bartha standing outside

Bartha, Paul
Faculty
Philosophy
Head, Professor
paul.bartha@ubc.ca

A headshot of Matthew Bedke against a brown background

Bedke, Matt
Faculty
Philosophy
Professor
mbedke@mail.ubc.ca

A headshot of Gasper Begus standing against the sky.

Begus , Gasper
Affiliate
Linguistics
Assistant Professor
begus@berkeley.edu

Bernhardt, Barbara May
Faculty
Audiology & Speech Sciences
Emerita Professor
may.bernhardt@audiospeech.ubc.ca

A picture of Professor Catherine Best who is wearing glasses, a black shirt and has blue hair

Best, Catherine
Affiliate

Professor

An image of Susan Birch holding an iPad in front of a child

Birch, Susan
Faculty
Psychology
Associate Professor
sbirch@psych.ubc.ca

A headshot of Sonya Bird smiling and holding a mug

Bird, Sonya
Affiliate

Associate Professor
sbird@uvic.ca

A headshot of Alexis Black standing outside

Black, Alexis
Faculty
School of Audiology & Speech Sciences
Assistant Professor
alexis.black@audiospeech.ubc.ca

Boyd, Lara
Faculty
Physical Therapy
Professor
lara.boyd@ubc.ca

Burnham, Denis
Affiliate

Professor

A headshot of Krista Byers-Heinlein standing in front of a plant

Byers-Heinlein, Krista
Affiliate
Psychology
Associate Professor
k.byers@concordia.ca

C
A headshot of Jennifer Campbell smiling, and standing in front of mountains

Campbell, Jennifer
Student Member
Psychology
Post graduate research assistant
campbejc@psych.ubc.ca

Joanna Cannon

Cannon, Joanna
Faculty
Educational & Counselling Psychology, & Special Education
Associate Professor
joanna.cannon@ubc.ca

A headshot of Sylvia Chan with her head propped against her hand

Chan, Sylvia
Student Member
School of Audiology & Speech Sciences
PhD Candidate
sylvia.chan@audiospeech.ubc.ca

A headshot of Ashley Chand, smiling and wearing a black sweater

Chand, Ashley
Student Member
Audiology & Speech Sciences
MSc Student
ashley.chand6@hotmail.ca

A headshot of Kristina Chang standing outside

Chang, Kristina
Student Member
School of Audiology & Speech Sciences
MSc Student
kristina.chang@alumni.ubc.ca

A headshot of Sheri Choi standing outside

Choi, Sheri
Student Member
Psychology
PhD Student

A headshot of Valter Ciocca standing outside

Ciocca, Valter
Faculty
Audiology & Speech Sciences
Professor
vciocca@audiospeech.ubc.ca

Colozzo, Paola
Faculty
Audiology & Speech Sciences
Associate Professor
paola.colozzo@audiospeech.ubc.ca

An headshot of James Crippen smiling, standing in front of a window

Crippen, James A.
Affiliate
First Nations Languages
Postdoctoral Fellow
jcrippen@sfu.ca

A headshot of Anja-Xiaoxing Cui standing outside

Cui, Anja-Xiaoxing
Postdoctoral Fellow
Music
Postdoctoral Fellow
anja.cui@ubc.ca

A headshot of Suzanne Curtin in front of a grey background

Curtin, Suzanne
Affiliate

Professor
scurtin@ucalgary.ca

A headshot of Nathalie Czeke sitting outside in the snow

Czeke , Nathalie
Affiliate

Research Fellow
czeke.nathalie@gmail.com

D

D'Arcy, Alexandra
Affiliate
Linguistics
Associate Professor
adarcy@uvic.ca

A headshot of Barbara Dancygier with her chin in her hand

Dancygier, Barbara
Faculty
English Language & Literatures
Professor
barbara.dancygier@ubc.ca

A headshot of Helene Deacon smiling and wearing a red jumper

Deacon, Hélène
Affiliate

Killam Professor

A headshot of Dr Demmans Epp smiling and wearing glasses.

Demmans Epp , Carrie
Affiliate
Computer Science
Assistant Professor
cdemmansepp@ualberta.ca

A headshot of Ruth Derksen standing against a brown background

Derksen, Ruth
Faculty
Civil Engineering
Senior Instructor Emerita
ruth.derksen@ubc.ca

A headshot of Donald Derrick smiling and wearing glasses, standing against a blue background

Derrick, Donald
Affiliate

Senior Lecturer
donald.derrick@canterbury.ac.nz

A headshot of Denitza Dramkin standing in front of a brown background

Dramkin, Denitza
Student Member
Psychology
PhD Candidate
ddramkin@psych.ubc.ca

d

de la Cruz-Pavía, Irene
Affiliate

Postdoctoral Fellow

de Villiers, Jessica
Faculty
English Language & Literatures
Associate Professor
Jessica.deVilliers@ubc.ca

E
A headshot of Jan Edwards wearing glasses and standing against a pink background

Edwards, Jan
Affiliate

Professor
edwards@umd.edu

Edwards, Terra
Affiliate


Enns, James
Faculty
Psychology
Distinguished University Scholar, Professor
jenns@psych.ubc.ca

F

Fais, Laurel
Affiliate


Farris-Trimble, Ashley
Affiliate
Linguistics

afarrist@sfu.ca

Fels, Sid
AdministrationFaculty
Electrical & Computer Engineering
Member, Language Sciences Steering Committee, ELIE Research Lead, Professor
ssfels@ece.ubc.ca

A headshot of Thalia Field sitting at her desk

Field, Thalia
Faculty
Neurology
Associate Professor
thalia.field@ubc.ca

A headshot of Dr. Along Fyshe, wearing glasses and sitting in front of a window

Fyshe, Alona
Affiliate

Assistant Professor

G
A headshot of Judit Gervain smiling

Gervain, Judit
Affiliate

Senior researcher / Professor
judit.gervain@parisdescartes.fr

A headshot of Deborah Giaschi

Giaschi, Deborah
Faculty
Ophthalmology & Visual Sciences
Director of Operations, Child and Family Research Imaging Facility, BC Children's Hospital, Professor
giaschi@mail.ubc.ca

Gick, Bryan
AdministrationFaculty
Linguistics
Co-Director, Language Sciences Initiative, ELIE Research Lead, Professor
gick@mail.ubc.ca

Gilbert, Dave
Faculty
Philosophy
Instructor
dave.gilbert@ubc.ca

Gilbert, John
Faculty
College of Health Disciplines, School of Audiology & Speech Sciences
Emeritus Professor, Founding Director, Founding Principle

Golinkoff, Roberta
Affiliate

Professor

Gordon, Julia
Faculty
Mathematics
Associate Professor
gor@math.ubc.ca

Griffin, Michael
Faculty
Philosophy
Associate Professor
michael.griffin@ubc.ca

Gunderson, Lee
Faculty
Language & Literacy Education
Professor
lee.gunderson@ubc.ca

H

Hall, Geoff
Faculty
Psychology
Head, Professor
geoff@psych.ubc.ca

Hall, Judith
Faculty
Medical Genetics
Emerita Professor

Hall, Kathleen Currie
Faculty
Linguistics
Associate Professor
kathleen.hall@ubc.ca

A headshot of Kiley Hamlin standing with arms crossed inside the UBC Psychology building

Hamlin, Kiley
Faculty
Psychology
Professor
kiley.hamlin@psych.ubc.ca

Herdman, Anthony
Faculty
Audiology & Speech Sciences
CoMBo Research Lead, Associate Professor
aherdman@audiospeech.ubc.ca

Hermiston, Nancy
Faculty
Music
Professor
nancy.hermiston@ubc.ca

A headshot of Annina Hessel standing outside in a city

Hessel, Annina
Affiliate

Postdoctoral Fellow
annina.hessel@psych.uni-goettingen.de

Hirsh-Pasek, Kathy
Affiliate
Psychology
Professor

Hodgson, Murray
In Memory
Population & Public Health
Professor

Howe, Tami
Faculty
Audiology & Speech Sciences
Assistant Professor
thowe@audiospeech.ubc.ca

Hu, Shun-Fu
Student Member
Psychology
MA Student
hu.sf@alumni.ubc.ca

Hudson Kam, Carla
Faculty
Linguistics
Professor
carla.hudsonkam@ubc.ca

I

Iwasaki, Shota
Student Member

PhD Candidate

J

Jamieson, Janet

Educational & Counselling Psychology, & Special Education
Professor
janet.jamieson@ubc.ca

Jang, Hyeju
Postdoctoral Fellow
Computer Science
Postdoctoral Fellow
hyejuj@cs.ubc.ca

A headshot of Dr. Cristina Jara

Jara, Cristina
Affiliate

Assistant Professor
cristinajarag@uc.cl

Jenkins, Carrie
Faculty
Philosophy
Professor
carrie.jenkins@ubc.ca

Jenstad, Lorienne
Faculty
Audiology & Speech Sciences
Associate Professor
ljenstad@audiospeech.ubc.ca

A headshot of Marc Joanisse standing in a checked shirt against a sandy coloured brick wall.

Joanisse, Marc
Affiliate

Professor, Senior Affiliated Research Scientist

Johnson, Khia
Student Member
Linguistics
PhD Student
khia.johnson@ubc.ca

K

Kandhadai, Padmapriya
Affiliate


kandhadaip@douglascollege.ca

Keough, Megan
Student Member
Linguistics
PhD Candidate

A headshot of Michael Kobor

Kobor, Michael
Faculty
Medical Genetics
Professor
msk@cmmt.ubc.ca

A headshot of Varada Kolhatkar inside a building

Kolhatkar, Varada
Faculty
Computer Science
Assistant Professor of Teaching
kvarada@cs.ubc.ca

A headshot of Jules Koostachin with a black background

Koostachin, Jules
Student Member
Institute for Gender, Race, Sexuality and Social Justice
PhD Candidate
j_koostachin@hotmail.com

A headshot of Edmundo Kronmüller standing in front of wooden beams

Kronmüller, Edmundo
Affiliate
Psychology
Assistant Professor
edmundo.kronmuller@gmail.com

L

Labuschagne, Ilse
Student Member
School of Audiology & Speech Sciences
PhD Candidate

Liu, Yadong
Student Member
Linguistics
PhD Student

A headshot of Roger Lo smiling, and wearing a striped shirt

Lo, Roger
Student Member
Linguistics
PhD Candidate
roger.lo@ubc.ca

M

Marchak, Kristan
Affiliate

Assistant Professor
kmarchak@ualberta.ca

Margolis, Eric
Faculty
Philosophy
Professor
eric.margolis@ubc.ca

Marino, David
Affiliate


damarino@cs.ubc.ca

A headshot of Stefka H. Marinova-Todd standing in front of a wall.

Marinova-Todd, Stefka H.
Faculty
School of Audiology & Speech Sciences
Associate Professor
stefka@audiospeech.ubc.ca

Mason, Glenda
Faculty
Audiology & Speech Sciences
Instructor

A headshot of Lillian May standing inside the UBC Psychology building

May, Lillian
Faculty
Psychology
Lecturer
lamay@psych.ubc.ca

McClay, Elise
Affiliate


A headshot of Dr Bob McMurray wearing glasses and standing against a black background

McMurray, Bob
Affiliate

F. Wendell Miller Professor
bob-mcmurray@uiowa.edu

Mellesmoen, Gloria
Student Member
Linguistics
PhD Candidate
gloria.mellesmoen@ubc.ca

Mendez Orellana, Carolina
Affiliate

Assistant Professor

A picture of Debasish Ray Mohapatra wearing a blue shirt and blue backpack, standing on a busy street

Mohapatra, Debasish Ray
Student Member
Electrical & Computer Engineering
MASc Student
debasishray@ece.ubc.ca

Mole, Christopher
Faculty
Philosophy
Professor
chris.mole@ubc.ca

Moon, Angela
Student Member
Language & Literacy Education
PhD Candidate

A headshot of Dr. Negin Motamed-Yeganeh wearing glasses and a black shirt

Motamed-Yeganeh, Negin
Postdoctoral Fellow
Music
Postdoctoral Fellow
negin.yeganeh@ubc.ca

N
A picture of Professor Newman wearing a blue shirt, black jacket and orange tie.

Newman, Aaron J
Affiliate

Professor

Nunez, Desmond
Faculty
Surgery
Associate Professor
desmond.nunez@ubc.ca

O
A headshot of Darko Odic standing in the Psychology building

Odic, Darko
Faculty
Psychology
Assistant Professor
darko.odic@psych.ubc.ca

A headshot of AJ Orena

Orena, AJ
Postdoctoral Fellow
Psychology
Postdoctoral Fellow
aorena@psych.ubc.ca

R

Raftery, J. Patrick
Faculty
Music
Assistant Professor
jpatrick.raftery@ubc.ca

Reh, Rebecca
Faculty
Psychology
Postdoctoral Fellow
rebareh@psych.ubc.ca

Ribary, Urs
Faculty
Psychiatry
Professor

Rochemont, Michael
In Memory
Linguistics
Professor

A headshot of Mirta Roncagalli smiling and wearing glasses with a lamp in the background

Roncagalli, Mirta
Student Member
French, Hispanic & Italian Studies
PhD Candidate
mirta.roncagalli@alumni.ubc.ca

Rullmann, Hotze
Faculty
Linguistics
Associate Professor
hotze.rullmann@ubc.ca

S

Sadlier-Brown, Emily
Student Member
Linguistics
PhD Candidate

Saffran, Jenny
Affiliate

Professor
jsaffran@wisc.edu

A headshot of Pramit Saha standing outside

Saha, Pramit
Student Member
Electrical & Computer Engineering
MASc Student, Graduate Research Assistant

Schellenberg, Murray
Faculty
Linguistics
Research and Archives Manager

A headshot of Lauren Schneider standing outside

Schneider, Lauren
Affiliate
Linguistics
PhD Candidate

Siegel, Linda
Faculty
Educational & Counselling Psychology, & Special Education
Emerita Professor
linda.siegel@ubc.ca

A headshot of Ori Simchen with face turned to the right

Simchen , Ori
Faculty
Philosophy
Professor
ori.simchen@ubc.ca

Skoretz, Stacey
Faculty
Audiology & Speech Sciences
Assistant Professor
sskoretz@audiospeech.ubc.ca

Small, Jeff
Faculty
Audiology & Speech Sciences
Associate Professor, Director
jeffs@audiospeech.ubc.ca

Small, Susan
Faculty
Audiology & Speech Sciences
Associate Professor
ssmall@audiospeech.ubc.ca

Soo, Rachel
Student Member
Linguistics
PhD Candidate

Sorenson Duncan, Tamara
Affiliate

Assistant Professor

A headshot of Márton Sóskuthy standing in front of a red background

Sóskuthy, Márton
Faculty
Linguistics
Assistant Professor
marton.soskuthy@ubc.ca

A picture of Venkata Praneeth Srungarapu wearing sunglasses and a hat, standing against a wooden fence with a view over Vancouver harbour in the background.

Srungarapu, Venkata Praneeth
Student Member
Electrical & Computer Engineering
MASc Student

Stavness, Ian
Affiliate

Associate Professor
ian.stavness@usask.ca

Stelle, Beth
Affiliate


A headshot of Elise Stickles standing side on to the camera, in front of leaves

Stickles, Elise
Faculty
English Language & Literatures
Assistant Professor
elise.stickles@ubc.ca

Stoessl, A. Jon
Faculty
Neurology
Head, Professor
jstoessl@mail.ubc.ca

A photo with a visual effect displaying Nicole Sugden's face on its side and straight on

Sugden, Nicole
Postdoctoral Fellow
Psychology
Postdoctoral Fellow
nsugden@psych.ubc.ca

Sutherland , Terrence
Affiliate

Cultural Resource Coordinator
crc@kifc.ca

T
A headshot of Maite Taboada against a grey background

Taboada, Maite
Affiliate
Linguistics
Professor
mtaboada@sfu.ca

Taylor, Ryan
Postdoctoral Fellow
Linguistics
Postdoctoral Fellow

Tessier, Anne-Michelle
Faculty
Linguistics
Associate Professor
am.tessier@ubc.ca

A headshot of Sonja Thoma standing outside with arms crossed, smiling

Thoma, Sonja
Affiliate

Language coach

Tkachman, Oksana
Student Member
Linguistics
PhD Candidate

Tremblay, Kelly
Affiliate

Professor

Turner, Alannah
Affiliate


U

Ungureanu, Manuela
Faculty
Economics, Philosophy, and Political Science
Associate Professor
manuela.ungureanu@ubc.ca

V

Vatikiotis-Bateson, Eric
In Memory
Cognitive Systems, Linguistics
Professor

W
A headshot of Professor Laura Wagner smiling

Wagner, Laura
Affiliate
Psychology
Professor, Director, Language Sciences Research Lab
wagner.602@osu.edu

Wang, Yue
Affiliate

Professor
yuew@sfu.ca

A headshot of Sandra Waxman standing outside

Waxman, Sandra
Affiliate

Professor
s-waxman@northwestern.edu

A headshot of Drew Weatherhead standing outside

Weatherhead, Drew
Affiliate

Assistant Professor

Weber, Rachel
Faculty
Educational & Counselling Psychology, & Special Education
Assistant Professor of Teaching
rachel.weber@ubc.ca

Wenk, Regina
Student Member
School of Audiology & Speech Sciences
MSc Student
regina.wenk@alumni.ubc.ca

A headshot of Janet Werker standing outside and wearing a scarf

Werker, Janet
AdministrationFaculty
Psychology
Co-Director, Language Sciences Initiative, CoMBo Research Lead, Professor
jwerker@psych.ubc.ca

A headshot of Lynne Williams standing in front of a white background

Williams, Lynne
Affiliate

Staff Scientist
lwilliams@bcchr.ubc.ca

Wilson, Rozanne
Faculty
Audiology & Speech Sciences
Research Manager

Wojcik, Erica
Affiliate

Assistant Professor
ewojcik@skidmore.edu

Wong, Patrick
Affiliate

Professor
p.wong@cuhk.edu.hk

A photo of director of the Cognitive Neuroscience of Schizophrenia (CNoS) Laboratory, Professor Todd Woodward in a blue shirt against a grey background.

Woodward, Todd
Faculty
Psychiatry
Professor
toddswoodward@gmail.com

Y

Yeung, Henny
Affiliate

Assistant Professor
henny_yeung@sfu.ca

A headshot of Virginia Yip standing in front of bookshelves

Yip, Virginia
Affiliate

Professor
vcymatthews@cuhk.edu.hk

Yoon, Florence
Faculty
Classical, Near Eastern, & Religious Studies
Assistant Professor
florence.yoon@ubc.ca

Z
A headshot of Sherri K Zelazny against a grey background

Zelazny, Sherri
Faculty
School of Audiology & Speech Sciences
Clinical Supervisor / Registered Speech-Language Pathologist
sherri@surreyvoiceclinic.com

Zhang, Xuan
Student Member
Audiology & Speech Sciences
PhD Candidate