You are here

Evolving Language in an Information Economy

A
A headshot of Muhammad Abdul-Mageed standing side on to the camera with arms crossed

Abdul-Mageed, Muhammad
Administration, Governance Committee, Faculty
Linguistics, School of Information, & Computer Science
Member, Language Sciences Steering Committee, ELIE Research co-Lead, Assistant Professor
muhammad.mageed@ubc.ca

Abel, Jennifer
Affiliate

Training Coordinator

A headshot of Ifeoluwanimi Adebara wearing a yellow and blue shirt, standing in front of a dark door

Adebara, Ifeoluwanimi
Student Member
Linguistics
PhD Student
fenimi@mail.ubc.ca

Alderete, John
Affiliate
Linguistics
Associate Professor
alderete@sfu.ca

Atkey, Susan
Faculty
Library
Humanities and Social Sciences Librarian

B
A headshot of Gasper Begus standing against the sky.

Begus , Gasper
Affiliate
Linguistics
Assistant Professor
begus@berkeley.edu

A headshot of Izak Benbasat standing outside

Benbasat, Izak
Faculty
Management Systems Division
Emeritus Professor
izak.benbasat@sauder.ubc.ca

Alexandre Bouchard-Côté

Bouchard-Côté, Alexandre
Faculty
Statistics
Associate Professor
bouchard@stat.ubc.ca

C
A headshot of Giuseppe Carenini

Carenini, Giuseppe
Faculty
Computer Science
Professor
carenini@cs.ubc.ca

D
A picture of Ron Darvin smiling, sitting in front of a laptop with arms crossed on the table.

Darvin, Ron
Affiliate

Assistant Professor
ron.darvin@cuhk.edu.hk

A headshot of Dr Demmans Epp smiling and wearing glasses.

Demmans Epp , Carrie
Affiliate
Computer Science
Assistant Professor
cdemmansepp@ualberta.ca

F

Fels, Sid
Administration, Faculty
Electrical & Computer Engineering
Member, Language Sciences Steering Committee, ELIE Research co-Lead, Professor
ssfels@ece.ubc.ca

G

Gick, Bryan
Administration, Faculty
Linguistics
Academic Co-Director, ELIE Research co-Lead, Simulating Languaging Bodies co-Lead, Professor
gick@mail.ubc.ca

H
A headshot of Alfred Hermida wearing a blue shirt and standing in front of a grey background

Hermida, Alfred
Faculty
School of Journalism, Writing, and Media
Professor
alfred.hermida@ubc.ca

A headshot of Dr. Hinnell against a grey background

Hinnell, Jennifer
Postdoctoral Fellow
English Language & Literatures
Postdoctoral Fellow
jennifer.hinnell@ubc.ca

Hui, Bowen
Faculty
Computer Science, Mathematics, Physics and Statistics
Associate Professor of Teaching
bowen.hui@ubc.ca

I

Iwasaki, Shota
Student Member

PhD Candidate

J

Jang, Hyeju
Postdoctoral Fellow
Computer Science
Postdoctoral Fellow
hyejuj@cs.ubc.ca

A headshot of Kaja Jasinska against a white background

Jasinska, Kaja
Affiliate

Assistant Professor
kaja.jasinska@utoronto.ca

Jawahar, Ganesh
Student Member
Computer Science
PhD Student

Jenson, Jen
Faculty
Language & Literacy Education
Professor, Digital Languages, Literacies and Cultures

Ji, Xuejun (Ryan)
Administration, Student Member
Educational & Counselling Psychology, & Special Education
Member, Language Sciences Steering Committee, PhD Student
x.ryan.ji@ubc.ca

Johnson, Khia
Student Member
Linguistics
PhD Student
khia.johnson@ubc.ca

K
A headshot of Varada Kolhatkar inside a building

Kolhatkar, Varada
Faculty
Computer Science
Assistant Professor of Teaching
kvarada@cs.ubc.ca

A headshot of Ethan Kutlu smiling, wearing glasses and a suit and tie, with green grass and trees in the background

Kutlu, Ethan
Affiliate

NSF Postdoctoral Fellow
ethankutlu@gmail.com

L

Lacho, David
Affiliate


A headshot of Caroline Lebrec wearing a purple shirt

Lebrec, Caroline
Faculty
French, Hispanic & Italian Studies
Assistant Professor of Teaching
caroline.lebrec@ubc.ca

A headshot of Neil Leveridge wearing glasses

Leveridge, Neil
Faculty
Wood Science
Assistant Professor
neil.leveridge@ubc.ca

A headshot of Jason Lieblang sitting in front of a bookcase

Lieblang, Jason
Faculty
Central, Eastern & Northern European Studies
Associate Professor of Teaching
Jason.Lieblang@ubc.ca

M

Ma, Andy
Student Member
Educational & Counselling Psychology, & Special Education
MA Student
andytfma@outlook.com

MacLean, Karon
Faculty
Computer Science
Professor
maclean@cs.ubc.ca

Marino, David
Affiliate


damarino@cs.ubc.ca

McGrenere, Joanna
Faculty
Computer Science
Professor
joanna@cs.ubc.ca

A headshot of Dr. Saif Mohammad smiling into camera, wearing a plaid shirt over a grey shirt, standing in front of a beige background

Mohammad, Saif M.
Affiliate

Senior Research Scientist
saif.mohammad@nrc-cnrc.gc.ca

N
A picture of Professor Newman wearing a blue shirt, black jacket and orange tie.

Newman, Aaron J
Affiliate

Professor

A headshot of Raymond Ng smiling. He is wearing glasses and a white shirt.

Ng, Raymond
Administration, Faculty
Computer Science
Member, Language Sciences Steering Committee, Mapping Language Acquisition and Decline Lead, Professor

Q

Qi, Estella
Faculty
Statistics
Instructor
estella.qi@stat.ubc.ca

R
A headshot of Mohi Reza standing against a grey background

Reza, Mohi
Affiliate

PhD Student
mohireza@cs.ubc.ca

S

Schmidt, Mark
Faculty
Computer Science
Associate Professor
schmidtm@cs.ubc.ca

Silfverberg, Miikka
Faculty
Linguistics
Assistant Professor
miikka.silfverberg@ubc.ca

Sinnamon, Luanne
Faculty
School of Information
Associate Professor
luanne.sinnamon@ubc.ca

A headshot of Márton Sóskuthy standing in front of a red background

Sóskuthy, Márton
Faculty
Linguistics
Assistant Professor
marton.soskuthy@ubc.ca

Stavness, Ian
Affiliate

Associate Professor
ian.stavness@usask.ca

Sutherland , Terrence
Affiliate

Cultural Resource Coordinator
crc@kifc.ca

T
A headshot of Maite Taboada against a grey background

Taboada, Maite
Affiliate
Linguistics
Professor
mtaboada@sfu.ca

Titone, Debra
Affiliate

Professor / Canada Research Chair in Language & Multilingualism (Tier I)

Tworek, Heidi
Administration, Governance Committee, Faculty
History / Public Policy
Member, Language Sciences Steering Committee, Reimagining Public Discourse Lead, Associate Professor
heidi.tworek@ubc.ca

V
A photo of Jérémie Voix sitting in a workshop

Voix, Jérémie
Affiliate

Associate Professor, Professor
jeremie.voix@etsmtl.ca

Y
Dongwook Yoon is an Assistant Professor at the Department of Computer Science, UBC.

Yoon, Dongwook
Faculty
Computer Science
Assistant Professor
yoon@cs.ubc.ca

Z
A headshot of Chiyu Zhang standing against a grey background

Zhang, Chiyu
Student Member
School of Information
PhD Student

Zheng, Tianyi
Student Member
Educational & Counselling Psychology, & Special Education
MA Student
tianyi.zheng@ubc.ca