Language, Sustainability and Transnationalism

A
A headshot of Dr. Kathryn Accurso standing side on, smiling, in front of a tree with red leaves

Accurso, Kathryn
Faculty
Language & Literacy Education
Assistant Professor of Teaching
kathryn.accurso@ubc.ca

A headshot of Ifeoluwanimi Adebara wearing a yellow and blue shirt, standing in front of a dark door

Adebara, Ifeoluwanimi
Student Member
Linguistics
PhD Student
fenimi@mail.ubc.ca

Afreen, Asma
Student Member
Language & Literacy Education
PhD Student

Alderete, John
Affiliate
Linguistics
Associate Professor
alderete@sfu.ca

Aoyama, Ryosuke
Student Member
Department of Language and Literacy Education
PhD Student
ryosuke.aoyama.11@gmail.com

A picture of Ana Laura Arrieta Zamudio standing at a podium, gesturing with her hands. She is standing in front of a white board and laptop is on the podium. She is wearing a denim jacket and glasses.

Arrieta Zamudio, Ana Laura
Student Member
Linguistics
PhD Student
ana.arrieta@ubc.ca

Ayan, Irem
Faculty
French, Hispanic & Italian Studies
Assistant Professor of French Traductology and Translation
irem.ayan@ubc.ca

B

Badubi, Opelo
Student Member
Department of Language and Literacy Education
Ph.D Student
opelo.badubi@gmail.com

Bahia, Guellaï
Affiliate

Academic Co-Director
bahia.guellai@gmail.com

A headshot of Heather Bliss smiling

Bliss, Heather
Faculty
Linguistics
Adjunct Professor

Boltokova, Daria
Affiliate

Postdoctoral Fellow

A headshot of Marie-Eve Bouchard holding a glass and wearing a yellow toque

Bouchard, Marie-Eve
Faculty
French, Hispanic & Italian Studies
Assistant Professor
me.bouchard@ubc.ca

Bournot-Trites, Monique
Faculty
Language & Literacy Education
Associate Professor
monique.bournot-trites@ubc.ca

Bowers, Katherine
Faculty
Central, Eastern & Northern European Studies
Associate Professor
Katherine.Bowers@ubc.ca

Brinton, Laurel
Faculty
English Language & Literatures
Professor
Laurel.Brinton@ubc.ca

An image of Heather Burge standing in front of a harbour, wearing a green jumper and multicoloured scarf

Burge, Heather
Student Member
Anthropology
PhD Candidate

A headshot of Stefania Burk standing outside

Burk, Stefania
Faculty
Asian Studies
Associate Dean, Academic, Associate Professor of Teaching
stefania.burk@ubc.ca

Burton, Strang
Faculty
Linguistics
Assistant Professor of Teaching
Strang.Burton@ubc.ca

C

Cameron, Catherine Ann
Faculty
Psychology
Honorary Professor
acameron@psych.ubc.ca

A headshot of Luisa Canuto wearing a scarf and reading glasses on her head

Canuto, Luisa
Faculty
French, Hispanic & Italian Studies
Assistant Professor of Teaching
luisa.canuto@ubc.ca

Carbonetti, Maria
Faculty
French, Hispanic & Italian Studies
Lecturer
maria.carbonetti@ubc.ca

Cardoso, Amanda
Faculty
Linguistics
Lecturer
amanda.cardoso@ubc.ca

A hadshot of Wendy Carr against a brown background

Carr, Wendy
Faculty
Language & Literacy Education
Associate Dean, Teacher Education, Professor of Teaching
wendy.carr@ubc.ca

Carter, Diana
Faculty
Languages and World Literatures
Associate Professor of Teaching
diana.carter@ubc.ca

Casas Aguilar, Anna
Faculty
French, Hispanic & Italian Studies
Assistant Professor
anna.casas@ubc.ca

Dr. Jessica Chan

Chan, Jessica
Faculty
Language Arts and Literacy Education, Faculty of Education, Okanagan School of Education
Assistant Professor
Jessica.chan@ubc.ca

A black and white photo of Bridget Chase sitting against a white wall, laughing.

Chase, Bridget
Affiliate

Community Success Specialist
bridget@madebybridget.com

Chen, Wei-Rui
Student Member
Department of Linguistics
PhD Student
weirui.chen@ubc.ca

Headshot of Sylvia Cho

Cho, Sylvia
Faculty
Department of Linguistics
PhD Candidate, Sessional Lecturer
sylvia.cho@ubc.ca

Chusang, Sonam
Faculty
Asian Studies
Adjunct Professor

Comeau, Emily
Student Member
Community, Culture & Global Studies
PhD Candidate
comeau.emily3@gmail.com

Corella, Meghan
Faculty
Language & Literacy Education
Assistant Professor
meghan.corella@ubc.ca

An headshot of James Crippen smiling, standing in front of a window

Crippen, James A.
Affiliate
First Nations Languages
Postdoctoral Fellow
jcrippen@sfu.ca

D
A headshot of Reginald D'Silva smiling, and wearing an orange shirt under a tan jacket, sitting in a chair against a green wall

D'Silva, Reginald
Faculty
Language & Literacy Education
Associate Professor of Teaching
reginald.dsilva@ubc.ca

A headshot of Sara Davidson standing in front of a grey background

Davidson , Sara Florence
Affiliate

Assistant Professor

Davis, Henry
Faculty
Linguistics
Professor
henry.davis@ubc.ca

Déchaine, Rose-Marie
Faculty
Linguistics
Associate Professor

Delage-Béland, Isabelle
Faculty
French, Hispanic & Italian Studies
Lecturer
isabelle.delagebeland@ubc.ca

Doherty, Liam
Student Member
Language & Literacy Education
PhD Candidate
liam.doherty@ubc.ca

Dollinger, Stefan
Faculty
English Language & Literatures
Professor
Stefan.Dollinger@ubc.ca

Douglas, Scott
Faculty
Education (UBC-O)
Associate Professor
scott.douglas@ubc.ca

Duff, Patricia
Faculty
Language & Literacy Education
Professor
patricia.duff@ubc.ca

E

Early, Margaret
Faculty
Language & Literacy Education
Associate Professor
margaret.early@ubc.ca

Elmadany, AbdelRahim
Postdoctoral Fellow
School of Information
Postdoctoral Fellow
a.elmadany@ubc.ca

F

Ferreira, Alfredo
Faculty
Academic English Program, Vantage College
Lecturer

Flynn, Darin
Affiliate
Linguistics

dflynn@ucalgary.ca

Fougére, Sonja
Student Member
Linguistics
PhD Student
sonjaf16@student.ubc.ca

Frackman, Kyle
Faculty
Central, Eastern & Northern European Studies
Associate Professor
kyle.frackman@ubc.ca

Tim Frandy pictured on the left

Frandy, Tim
Faculty
Central, Eastern & Northern European Studies
Assistant Professor
tim.frandy@ubc.ca

A headshot of Dr. Along Fyshe, wearing glasses and sitting in front of a window

Fyshe, Alona
Affiliate

Assistant Professor

G
A headshot of Michelle Gagnon-Creeley standing outside with snow in the background, wearing a scarf

Gagnon-Creeley , Michelle
Affiliate


michelle.creeley@ubc.ca

Gambarage, Joash
Faculty
Linguistics
Sessional Lecturer
joash.gambarage@ubc.ca

García Pérez, Grisel
Faculty
Languages and World Literatures
Associate Professor
grisel.garcia-perez@ubc.ca

Gillard, Yoriko
Student Member
Language & Literacy Education
PhD Student
yorikogillard@capilanou.ca

Gilman, Michelle
Student Member
Language & Literacy Education
PhD Student

Giltrow, Janet
Faculty
English Language & Literatures
Professor Emerita
janet.giltrow@ubc.ca

A headshot of Dr. Gramling looking over his shoulder into the camera, wearing a black jacket and blue shirt

Gramling, David
Faculty
Central, Eastern & Northern European Studies
Professor, Head
david.gramling@ubc.ca

Gunderson, Lee
Faculty
Language & Literacy Education
Professor
lee.gunderson@ubc.ca

Guntly, Erin
Student Member
Linguistics
PhD Candidate
eguntly@alumni.ubc.ca

H

Hammerly, Christopher
Faculty
Department of Linguistics
Assistant Professor and Director of the Experimental Linguistics and Fieldwork Lab (ELF-Lab)
chris.hammerly@ubc.ca

Hammerly, Christopher
Faculty
Linguistics
Assistant Professor
chris.hammerly@ubc.ca

A headshot of Gunnar Hansson wearing glasses and standing against a red background

Hansson, Gunnar Ólafur
Faculty
Linguistics
Associate Professor
gunnar.hansson@ubc.ca

Harding, Louise
Student Member
Population & Public Health
MSc Student

A headshot of Johannes Heim smiling and standing against a red background

Heim, Johannes
Affiliate

Postdoctoral Fellow
johannes.heim@uni-greifswald.de

Headshot of Tomoharu Hirota

Hirota, Tomoharu
Student Member
English Language & Literatures
PhD Student
htomo@student.ubc.ca

Huijsmans, Marianne
Student Member
Linguistics
PhD Candidate
mebhuijs@alumni.ubc.ca

A head shot of Dallas Hunt standing with arms crossed in front of fall foliage, wearing a black shirt and glasses

Hunt, Dallas
Faculty
English Language & Literatures
Assistant Professor
Dallas.Hunt@ubc.ca

Huot, Suzanne
Faculty
Department of Occupational Science and Occupational Therapy
Assistant Professor
suzanne.huot@ubc.ca

J

Jacobs, Peter
Affiliate

Associate Professor

A headshot of Kaja Jasinska against a white background

Jasinska, Kaja
Affiliate

Assistant Professor
kaja.jasinska@utoronto.ca

Jenson, Jen
Faculty
Language & Literacy Education
Professor, Digital Languages, Literacies and Cultures

Ji, Xuejun (Ryan)
Student Member
Educational & Counselling Psychology, & Special Education
Member, Language Sciences Steering Committee, PhD Student
x.ryan.ji@ubc.ca

K

Kamigaki-Baron, Mitchi
Student Member
Department of Linguistics
PhD Student
michelle.baron@ubc.ca

A headshot of Dr. Anusha Kassan standing outside

Kassan, Anusha
Faculty
Educational & Counselling Psychology, & Special Education
Associate Professor
anusha.kassan@ubc.ca

Headshot of Fiana Kawane

Kawane, Fiana
Student Member
English Language & Literatures
PhD Candidate
fianak@mail.ubc.ca

Ioulia

Kovelman , Ioulia
Affiliate
Psychology
Associate Professor
kovelman@umich.edu

A headshot of Ryuko Kubota standing outside

Kubota, Ryuko
Faculty
Language & Literacy Education
Professor
ryuko.kubota@ubc.ca

Kudzia, Helena G
Faculty
Central, Eastern & Northern European Studies
Sessional Instructor
hkudzia@mail.ubc.ca

A headshot of Ethan Kutlu smiling, wearing glasses and a suit and tie, with green grass and trees in the background

Kutlu, Ethan
Affiliate

NSF Postdoctoral Fellow
ethankutlu@gmail.com

L
A headshot of Zoe Lam with shoulder length hair, standing against a red background

Lam, Zoe
Faculty
Asian Studies
Lecturer
zoe.lam@ubc.ca

A headshot of Caroline Lebrec wearing a purple shirt

Lebrec, Caroline
Faculty
French, Hispanic & Italian Studies
Assistant Professor of Teaching
caroline.lebrec@ubc.ca

Léveillé, Yoann
Student Member
Department of Linguistics
Graduate Student, PhD Student
ynnlvll@student.ubc.ca

Li, Duanduan

Asian Studies
Associate Professor
duanduan.li@ubc.ca

A headshot of Guofang Li standing in front of a grey background

Li, Guofang
Leadership, Steering Committee
Language & Literacy Education
Member, Language Sciences Steering Committee, LST Research co-Lead, Enhancing Language & Literacy Education co-lead, Professor

Luntzlara, Noah
Student Member
Department of Linguistics
PhD Student
noahidea@student.ubc.ca

M
A photo of Dr. Ervin Malakaj, Assistant Professor of German Studies at UBC

Malakaj, Ervin
Faculty
Central, Eastern & Northern European Studies
Assistant Professor
Ervin.malakaj@ubc.ca

Martin, Katie
Student Member
Linguistics
MA Student
katherine.martin@ubc.ca

Matthewson, Lisa
Faculty
Linguistics
Professor
lisa.matthewson@ubc.ca

Photo of Firth McEachern

McEachern, Firth
Student Member
Department of Language and Literacy Education
Graduate Student
firth@student.ubc.ca

McElgunn, Hannah
Postdoctoral Fellow
Anthropology
SSHRC Postdoctoral Fellow
hannah.mcelgunn@ubc.ca

Mellesmoen, Gloria
Student Member
Linguistics
PhD Candidate
gloria.mellesmoen@ubc.ca

Minic - Vidovic, Ranka
Affiliate

Associate Professor
Ranka.Minic-Vidovic@uregina.ca

Headshot

Monroe, M. Willis
Affiliate
History
Assistant Professor
willis.monroe@ubc.ca

Moore, Patrick
Faculty
Anthropology
Associate Professor
patrick.moore@ubc.ca

Morales-Good, Mónica
Faculty
Languages and World Literatures
Assistant Professor of Teaching
monica.good@ubc.ca

Morozova, Olena
Faculty
Central, Eastern & Northern European Studies
Assistant Professor
olena.morozova@ubc.ca

Muehlmann, Shaylih
Faculty
Anthropology
Associate Professor
shaylih@mail.ubc.ca

Murphy, Anne
Faculty
Asian Studies
Associate Professor
anne.murphy@ubc.ca

Photo of Psyfun Mustary

Mustary, Psyfun
Student Member
English Language & Literatures
PhD Student
psyfun12@student.ubc.ca

N

Nagoudi, ElMoatez Billah
Postdoctoral Fellow
School of Information
Postdoctoral Fellow
moatez.nagoudi@ubc.ca

Navarrete, Carolina A.
Faculty
Liu Institute for Global Issues
Postdoctoral Fellow
carolavancouver@gmail.com

Headshot of Garrett Joseph Nicolai

Nicolai, Garrett Joseph
Faculty
Department of Linguistics
Assistant Professor of Teaching
garrett.nicolai@ubc.ca

A headshot of Bonny Norton smiling, wearing a black sweater and pink scarf

Norton, Bonny
Faculty
Language & Literacy Education
LST Research Lead, 2016-2019, Professor
bonny.norton@ubc.ca

O

O'Brien, Juliet
Faculty
French, Hispanic & Italian Studies
Lecturer
juliet.obrien@ubc.ca

A headshot of Orr-Álvarez smiling, standing side on to the camera

Orr-Álvarez, Brianne
Faculty
French, Hispanic & Italian Studies
Assistant Professor of Teaching
brianne.orr@ubc.ca

P
A headshot of Raymond Pai wearing a black t-shirt

Pai, Raymond
Faculty, Student Member
Asian Studies / Language & Literacy Education
Lecturer / PhD Student
raymond.pai@ubc.ca

A headshot of Brianna Peacey smiling, wearing glasses, with a brown fence in the background

Peacey , Brianna
Affiliate

PhD Student

A headshot of Aidan Pine, smiling, standing in front of a tree.

Pine, Aidan
Affiliate

Application Development Specialist, Lead Developer

A headshot of Brenda Poon standing in front of a grey background

Poon, Brenda
Faculty
Population & Public Health / Wavefront Centre for Communication Accessibility
Assistant Professor / Research Division Lead
Brenda.poon@ubc.ca

R

Rezaei, Shadi
Student Member
French, Hispanic & Italian Studies
PhD Student
shrezaei@student.ubc.ca

Rieger, Caroline
Faculty
Central, Eastern & Northern European Studies
Associate Professor

Rojas-Primus, Constanza
Affiliate

Professor

Rosenblum, Daisy
Leadership, Steering Committee
Anthropology, First Nations & Endangered Languages Program
Member, Language Sciences Steering Committee, LST Research co-Lead, Supporting Community-Engaged Language Survivance co-lead, Assistant Professor
daisy.rosenblum@ubc.ca

A headshot of Dr Labrada dressed in a grey jacket and white shirt, standing against a dark background and smiling

Rosés Labrada, Jorge Emilio
Affiliate

Assistant Professor
jrosesla@ualberta.ca

Ross, Alex
Student Member
Department of Language and Literacy Education
PhD Student
aadross@student.ubc.ca

Ruitenberg, Claudia
Faculty
Educational Studies
Professor Philosophy of Education
claudia.ruitenberg@ubc.ca

S
A headshot of Pramod Sah standing in front of a building

Sah, Pramod
Student Member
Language & Literacy Education
PhD Candidate

A headshot of Lauren Schneider standing outside

Schneider, Lauren
Affiliate
Linguistics
PhD Candidate

A headshot of Christine Schreyer, smiling and wearing a polka dot shirt

Schreyer, Christine
Leadership, Faculty
Community, Culture & Global Studies
Acting Academic Co-Director, Associate Professor, Interim Language Sciences Co-Director, Supporting Community-Engaged Language Survivance co-lead
christine.schreyer@ubc.ca

Sear, Victoria
Student Member
Anthropology
PhD Student

Shank Lauwo, Monica
Student Member
Language & Literacy Education
Member, Language Sciences Steering Committee, PhD Student
monica_shank@yahoo.ca

Shaw, Patricia
Faculty
Anthropology, First Nations & Endangered Languages Program
Professor Emerita
patricia.a.shaw@ubc.ca

Simard, Charles
Affiliate

Editor (Poetry and Fiction)
crsimard@gmail.com

Spiliotopoulos, Valia
Faculty
Language & Literacy Education
Assistant Professor of Teaching
valia.spiliotopoulos@ubc.ca

Stacey, Anna
Student Member
Department of Linguistics
Graduate Student, MA Student
annajs@student.ubc.ca

Stranger-Johannessen, Espen
Affiliate

Associate Professor
espen.strangerjohannessen@inn.no

Stratton, James
Faculty
English Language & Literatures
Assistant Professor
james.stratton@ubc.ca

Sun, Zhuo
Student Member
Language & Literacy Education
PhD Candidate

Surtees, Victoria
Affiliate

Teaching and Learning Specialist
victoria.surtees@ufv.ca

Sutherland , Terrence
Affiliate

Cultural Resource Coordinator
crc@kifc.ca

T

Tastanbek, Serikbolsyn
Student Member
Department of Language and Literacy Education
Ph.D Student
serikbol@student.ubc.ca

A headshot of Jenny Thomson smiling. Dr Thomson is wearing glasses and has long hair.

Thomson, Jenny
Affiliate

Reader in Language & Literacy, Visiting Associate Professor

Titone, Debra
Affiliate

Professor / Canada Research Chair in Language & Multilingualism (Tier I)

Tunalı, Elif Tutku
Student Member
Psychology
Graduate Student
tutku@student.ubc.ca

Headshot of Dr. Mark Turin

Turin, Mark
Faculty
Anthropology, First Nations & Endangered Languages Program
Associate Professor
mark.turin@ubc.ca

V
A headshot of Sara Van Dan Acker smiling at the camera wearing a patterned shirt, glasses, and standing against a grey wall.

Van Dan Acker, Sara
Student Member
Language & Literacy Education
PhD Student
sara.vandanacker@ubc.ca

Vieira, Sara
Student Member
Community, Culture & Global Studies
PhD Candidate

Volfova, Martina
Student Member
Anthropology
PhD Candidate
mvolfova@alumni.ubc.ca

v
A headshot of Anuschka van ´t Hooft standing in front of a building

van ´t Hooft, Anuschka
Affiliate
Anthropology
Professor
avanthooft@uaslp.mx

W
A picture of Qian Wang smiling and standing in front of a rock wall.

Wang, Qian
Faculty
Asian Studies
Associate Professor of Teaching
qian.wang@ubc.ca

A headshot of Shannon Ward standing against a grey background

Ward, Shannon
Faculty
Community, Culture & Global Studies
Assistant Professor
shannon.ward@ubc.ca

Wernicke, Meike
Faculty
Language & Literacy Education
Assistant Professor
meike.wernicke@ubc.ca

Wiltschko, Martina
Faculty, Affiliate

ICREA Research Professor
martina.wiltschko@icrea.cat

Wong, Phoebe
Student Member
Interdisciplinary Studies Graduate Program
Ph.D Student and Audiologist
phoebeow@alumni.ubc.ca

Y

Yu, Skylet
Affiliate

Sessional Lecturer

Z

Zappa-Hollman, Sandra
Faculty
Language & Literacy Education
Assistant Professor
sandra.zappa@ubc.ca

A headshot of Chiyu Zhang standing against a grey background

Zhang, Chiyu
Student Member
School of Information
PhD Student

Zhang, Xuan
Student Member
Audiology & Speech Sciences
PhD Candidate

Zhao, Jiaying
Faculty
Psychology, Institute for Resources, Environment & Sustainability
Associate Professor
jiayingz@psych.ubc.ca

Zhou, Kate
Student Member
Department of Linguistics

kate.zhou@ubc.ca

First Nations land acknowledegement

We acknowledge that UBC’s campuses are situated within the traditional territories of the Musqueam, Squamish and Tsleil-Waututh, and in the traditional, ancestral, unceded territory of the Syilx Okanagan Nation and their peoples.


UBC Crest The official logo of the University of British Columbia. Urgent Message An exclamation mark in a speech bubble. Caret An arrowhead indicating direction. Arrow An arrow indicating direction. Arrow in Circle An arrow indicating direction. Arrow in Circle An arrow indicating direction. Chats Two speech clouds. Facebook The logo for the Facebook social media service. Information The letter 'i' in a circle. Instagram The logo for the Instagram social media service. External Link An arrow entering a square. Linkedin The logo for the LinkedIn social media service. Location Pin A map location pin. Mail An envelope. Menu Three horizontal lines indicating a menu. Minus A minus sign. Telephone An antique telephone. Plus A plus symbol indicating more or the ability to add. Search A magnifying glass. Twitter The logo for the Twitter social media service. Youtube The logo for the YouTube video sharing service.