You are here

Language, Sustainability and Transnationalism

A

Afreen, Asma
Student Member
Language & Literacy Education
PhD Student

Alderete, John
Affiliate
Linguistics
Associate Professor
alderete@sfu.ca

B

Balyasnikova, Natalia
Affiliate


A headshot of Heather Bliss smiling

Bliss, Heather
Faculty
Linguistics
Adjunct Professor
heather.bliss@ubc.ca

Boltokova, Daria
Affiliate

Postdoctoral Fellow

A headshot of Marie-Eve Bouchard holding a glass and wearing a yellow toque

Bouchard, Marie-Eve
Faculty
French, Hispanic & Italian Studies
Assistant Professor
me.bouchard@ubc.ca

Bournot-Trites, Monique
Faculty
Language & Literacy Education
Associate Professor
monique.bournot-trites@ubc.ca

Bowers, Katherine
Faculty
Central, Eastern & Northern European Studies
Associate Professor
Katherine.Bowers@ubc.ca

Brinton, Laurel
Faculty
English Language & Literatures
Professor
Laurel.Brinton@ubc.ca

An image of Heather Burge standing in front of a harbour, wearing a green jumper and multicoloured scarf

Burge, Heather
Student Member
Anthropology
PhD Candidate

A headshot of Stefania Burk standing outside

Burk, Stefania
Faculty
Asian Studies
Associate Dean, Academic, Associate Professor of Teaching
stefania.burk@ubc.ca

Burton, Strang
Faculty
Linguistics
Assistant Professor of Teaching
Strang.Burton@ubc.ca

C

Cameron, Catherine Ann
Faculty
Psychology
Honorary Professor
acameron@psych.ubc.ca

A headshot of Luisa Canuto wearing a scarf and reading glasses on her head

Canuto, Luisa
Faculty
French, Hispanic & Italian Studies
Assistant Professor of Teaching
luisa.canuto@ubc.ca

Carbonetti, Maria
Faculty
French, Hispanic & Italian Studies
Lecturer
maria.carbonetti@ubc.ca

Cardoso, Amanda
Faculty
Linguistics
Lecturer
amanda.cardoso@ubc.ca

A hadshot of Wendy Carr against a brown background

Carr, Wendy
Faculty
Language & Literacy Education
Associate Dean, Teacher Education, Professor of Teaching
wendy.carr@ubc.ca

Carter, Diana
Faculty
Languages and World Literatures
Associate Professor of Teaching
diana.carter@ubc.ca

Casas Aguilar, Anna
Faculty
French, Hispanic & Italian Studies
Assistant Professor
anna.casas@ubc.ca

A black and white photo of Bridget Chase sitting against a white wall, laughing.

Chase, Bridget
Affiliate

Community Success Specialist
bridget@madebybridget.com

Chusang, Sonam
Faculty
Asian Studies
Adjunct Professor

Corella, Meghan
Faculty
Language & Literacy Education
Assistant Professor
meghan.corella@ubc.ca

An headshot of James Crippen smiling, standing in front of a window

Crippen, James A.
Affiliate
First Nations Languages
Postdoctoral Fellow
jcrippen@sfu.ca

D
A headshot of Sara Davidson standing in front of a grey background

Davidson , Sara Florence
Affiliate

Assistant Professor

Davis, Henry
Faculty
Linguistics
Professor
henry.davis@ubc.ca

Déchaine, Rose-Marie
Faculty
Linguistics
Associate Professor

Doherty, Liam
Student Member
Language & Literacy Education
PhD Candidate
liam.doherty@ubc.ca

Dollinger, Stefan
Faculty
English Language & Literatures
Associate Professor
Stefan.Dollinger@ubc.ca

Douglas, Scott
Faculty
Education (UBC-O)
Associate Professor
scott.douglas@ubc.ca

Duff, Patricia
Faculty
Language & Literacy Education
Professor
patricia.duff@ubc.ca

E

Early, Margaret
Faculty
Language & Literacy Education
Associate Professor
margaret.early@ubc.ca

F

Ferreira, Alfredo
Faculty
Academic English Program, Vantage College
Lecturer

Flynn, Darin
Affiliate
Linguistics

dflynn@ucalgary.ca

Frackman, Kyle
Faculty
Central, Eastern & Northern European Studies
Associate Professor
kyle.frackman@ubc.ca

A headshot of Dr. Along Fyshe, wearing glasses and sitting in front of a window

Fyshe, Alona
Affiliate

Assistant Professor

G
A headshot of Michelle Gagnon-Creeley standing outside with snow in the background, wearing a scarf

Gagnon-Creeley , Michelle
Affiliate


michelle.creeley@ubc.ca

García Pérez, Grisel
Faculty
Languages and World Literatures
Associate Professor
grisel.garcia-perez@ubc.ca

Gillard, Yoriko
Student Member
Language & Literacy Education
PhD Student
yorikogillard@capilanou.ca

Gilman, Michelle
Student Member
Language & Literacy Education
PhD Student

Giltrow, Janet
Faculty
English Language & Literatures
Professor Emerita
janet.giltrow@ubc.ca

Good, Monica
Faculty
Languages and World Literatures
Assistant Professor of Teaching
monica.good@ubc.ca

Gunderson, Lee
Faculty
Language & Literacy Education
Professor
lee.gunderson@ubc.ca

Guntly, Erin
Student Member
Linguistics
PhD Candidate
eguntly@alumni.ubc.ca

H
A headshot of Gunnar Hansson wearing glasses and standing against a red background

Hansson, Gunnar Ólafur
Faculty
Linguistics
Associate Professor
gunnar.hansson@ubc.ca

A headshot of Johannes Heim smiling and standing against a red background

Heim, Johannes
Affiliate

Postdoctoral Fellow
johannes.heim@uni-greifswald.de

Hirota, Tomoharu
Student Member
English Language & Literatures
MA Student

Huijsmans, Marianne
Student Member
Linguistics
PhD Candidate
mebhuijs@alumni.ubc.ca

I

Iwasaki, Shota
Student Member

PhD Candidate

J

Jacobs, Peter
Affiliate

Assistant Professor

Ji, Xuejun (Ryan)
AdministrationStudent Member
Educational & Counselling Psychology, & Special Education
Member, Language Sciences Steering Committee, PhD Student
x.ryan.ji@ubc.ca

K
A headshot of Ryuko Kubota standing outside

Kubota, Ryuko
Faculty
Language & Literacy Education
Professor
ryuko.kubota@ubc.ca

Kudzia, Helena G
Faculty
Central, Eastern & Northern European Studies
Sessional Instructor
hkudzia@mail.ubc.ca

L
A headshot of Zoe Lam with shoulder length hair, standing against a red background

Lam, Zoe
Faculty
Asian Studies
Sessional Lecturer
zoe.lam@ubc.ca

Li, Duanduan

Asian Studies
Associate Professor
duanduan.li@ubc.ca

A headshot of Guofang Li standing in front of a grey background

Li, Guofang
Faculty
Language & Literacy Education
LST Research Lead, Professor

M
A photo of Dr. Ervin Malakaj, Assistant Professor of German Studies at UBC

Malakaj, Ervin
Faculty
Central, Eastern & Northern European Studies
Assistant Professor
Ervin.malakaj@ubc.ca

Martin, Katie
Student Member
Linguistics
MA Student
katherine.martin@ubc.ca

Matthewson, Lisa
Faculty
Linguistics
Professor
lisa.matthewson@ubc.ca

McElgunn, Hannah
Postdoctoral Fellow
Anthropology
SSHRC Postdoctoral Fellow
hannah.mcelgunn@ubc.ca

Mellesmoen, Gloria
Student Member
Linguistics
PhD Candidate
gloria.mellesmoen@ubc.ca

Minic - Vidovic, Ranka
Affiliate

Associate Professor
Ranka.Minic-Vidovic@uregina.ca

Moore, Patrick
Faculty
Anthropology
Associate Professor
patrick.moore@ubc.ca

Muehlmann, Shaylih
Faculty
Anthropology
Associate Professor
shaylih@mail.ubc.ca

Murphy, Anne
Faculty
Asian Studies
Associate Professor
anne.murphy@ubc.ca

N

Navarrete, Carolina A.
Faculty
Liu Institute for Global Issues
Postdoctoral Fellow
carolavancouver@gmail.com

Norton, Bonny
Faculty
Language & Literacy Education
LST Research Lead, 2016-2019, Professor
bonny.norton@ubc.ca

O

O'Brien, Juliet
Faculty
French, Hispanic & Italian Studies
Lecturer
juliet.obrien@ubc.ca

A headshot of Orr-Álvarez smiling, standing side on to the camera

Orr-Álvarez, Brianne
Faculty
French, Hispanic & Italian Studies
Assistant Professor of Teaching
brianne.orr@ubc.ca

P

Pai, Raymond
Faculty
Asian Studies
Lecturer
raymond.pai@ubc.ca

Paré, Anthony
Faculty
Language & Literacy Education
Head, Professor
anthony.pare@ubc.ca

A headshot of Brianna Peacey smiling, wearing glasses, with a brown fence in the background

Peacey , Brianna
Student Member
Community, Culture & Global Studies
MA Student
Brianna.peacey@alumni.ubc.ca

A headshot of Aidan Pine, smiling, standing in front of a tree.

Pine, Aidan
Affiliate

Lead Developer, Application Development Specialist

A headshot of Brenda Poon standing in front of a grey background

Poon, Brenda
Faculty
Population & Public Health / Wavefront Centre for Communication Accessibility
Assistant Professor / Research Division Lead
Brenda.poon@ubc.ca

R

Rajagopal, Harini
Student Member
Language & Literacy Education
PhD Candidate

Rieger, Caroline
Faculty
Central, Eastern & Northern European Studies
Associate Professor

Rojas-Primus, Constanza
Affiliate

Professor

Rosenblum, Daisy
Faculty
Anthropology, First Nations & Endangered Languages Program
LST Research Lead, Assistant Professor
daisy.rosenblum@ubc.ca

A headshot of Dr Labrada dressed in a grey jacket and white shirt, standing against a dark background and smiling

Rosés Labrada, Jorge Emilio Rosés
Affiliate

Assistant Professor
jrosesla@ualberta.ca

S
A headshot of Pramod Sah standing in front of a building

Sah, Pramod
Student Member
Language & Literacy Education
PhD Candidate

A headshot of Lauren Schneider standing outside

Schneider, Lauren
Affiliate
Linguistics
PhD Candidate

A headshot of Christine Schreyer, smiling and wearing a polka dot shirt

Schreyer, Christine
AdministrationFaculty
Community, Culture & Global Studies
Associate Professor, Member, Language Sciences Steering Committee
christine.schreyer@ubc.ca

Sear, Victoria
Student Member
Anthropology
PhD Student

Shank Lauwo, Monica
AdministrationStudent Member
Language & Literacy Education
Member, Language Sciences Steering Committee, PhD Student
monica_shank@yahoo.ca

Shaw, Patricia
Faculty
Anthropology, First Nations & Endangered Languages Program
Professor Emerita
patricia.a.shaw@ubc.ca

Simard, Charles
Affiliate

Editor (Poetry and Fiction)
crsimard@gmail.com

Stranger-Johannssen, Espen
Affiliate

Associate Professor
espen.strangerjohannessen@inn.no

Sun, Zhuo
Student Member
Language & Literacy Education
PhD Candidate

Surtees, Victoria
Affiliate

Teaching and Learning Specialist
victoria.surtees@ufv.ca

Sutherland , Terrence
Affiliate

Cultural Resource Coordinator
crc@kifc.ca

T
A headshot of Jenny Thomson smiling. Dr Thomson is wearing glasses and has long hair.

Thomson, Jenny
Affiliate

Reader in Language & Literacy, Visiting Associate Professor

Turin, Mark
Faculty
Anthropology, First Nations & Endangered Languages Program
Associate Professor
mark.turin@ubc.ca

v
A headshot of Anuschka van ´t Hooft standing in front of a building

van ´t Hooft, Anuschka
Affiliate
Anthropology
Professor
avanthooft@uaslp.mx

V

Vieira, Sara
Student Member
Community, Culture & Global Studies
PhD Candidate

Volfova, Martina
Student Member
Anthropology
PhD Candidate
mvolfova@alumni.ubc.ca

W
A picture of Qian Wang smiling and standing in front of a rock wall.

Wang, Qian
Faculty
Asian Studies
Associate Professor of Teaching
qian.wang@ubc.ca

A headshot of Shannon Ward standing against a grey background

Ward, Shannon
Faculty
Community, Culture & Global Studies
Assistant Professor
shannon.ward@ubc.ca

Wernicke, Meike
Faculty
Language & Literacy Education
Assistant Professor
meike.wernicke@ubc.ca

Wiltschko, Martina
FacultyAffiliate

ICREA Research Professor
martina.wiltschko@icrea.cat

Y

Yu, Skylet
Affiliate

Sessional Lecturer

Z

Zappa-Hollman, Sandra
Faculty
Language & Literacy Education
Assistant Professor
sandra.zappa@ubc.ca

Zhang, Xuan
Student Member
Audiology & Speech Sciences
PhD Candidate

Zhao, Jiaying
Faculty
Psychology, Institute for Resources, Environment & Sustainability
Associate Professor
jiayingz@psych.ubc.ca